BOOK REVIEW: THREE DARK CROWNS

Goodreads Synopsis:

When kingdom come, there will be one.

In every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born—three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomachache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of lions.

But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of win or lose…it’s life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins.

The last queen standing gets the crown.

3.5/5

The first half of this book is rough, friends. The second half of the book really saved the book for me, but it was hard to get there. It took me a few days to get through the first half of the book because I could not connect to the characters and didn’t care about what was happening to them whatsoever, the saving grace being Jules, Arsinoe’s best friend. Her story was what propelled me through the first half of the book, even when I was flipping pages to get past some of the slower parts of the novel. However, this book picked up around 50-60% percent of the way in and I had no problem reading through the last 40%. It was around that point that I started really liking Arsinoe (jk I straight up adore this chick) and Mirabella and investing in their stories, so I’m glad to say that I did start warming up to the characters. The third sister, Katherine, was really flat to me but I think this girl’s got some scary awesome potential. And Juuuuuuules! I swear, I’m so glad that she’s got a significant part in this novel because she is what really carried me through, but I would love to see even more of her. This girl needs her own book, just sayin’.

There’s so much going on with the romances in the this book, so to avoid any spoilers I’ll just say this: I’m not super invested in any of the romances right now but as plot devices I am super interested, which deviates from the norm of how I usually feel about the romances but in this case I think it may really work. OH THE DRAMA.

I would definitely endure this book again for that ending because oh my. That is how an ending should be.  The last 10 chapters of the book or so absolutely hooked me, and I wish that it had been like that the whole novel. The world building was super slow and I felt like the plot dragged on, and I wouldn’t have even continued but I had heard that the ending was worth it, and it totally was.

This book is slow and a little dry at the beginning, and while I didn’t care for any of the characters (save Jules, of course), things really do pick up and become easier to invest in. I know that’s not a raving endorsement and you’re probably thinking, “Wow Jillian, you really suck at this whole ‘selling the book’ thing,” but straight up, if you can get through the first half of the book I really think it’s worth it. Overall, I didn’t love the book but I’ll definitely be picking up the second one, if only to see how this ending is addressed. I think there may be some serious potential, so fingers crossed!

 

4 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: THREE DARK CROWNS

  1. Great review – I always like hearing if a book is a little slow at the start, but worth the pay-off if you continue reading. I’ve read several books that I ended up loving, but were close to DNF’ing… looking forward to see what you think about the sequel 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. First off, I am SO SORRY it has taken me til September to get back to you! I completely missed your comment!

      With slow books I always want to hold out hope that things are going to get better, and reading the reviews can definitely make it or break it if you’re on the fence. It wasn’t until I read ReverieandInk’s review on Goodreads that I decided to stick it out!

      And same!! The Raven Boys was probably the best example of this for me. It wasn’t until my 3rd attempt that I was able to really get into this this series, but once I decided to see it through, I was hooked. Definitely one of the best pay offs for sure!

      I can’t wait to read the sequel, and you’ll have to let me know your thoughts too if you get to reading it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Jillian! I found your blog through your bookstagram account and I am so happy that I did because this book is on my tbr list. I really enjoyed reading your review and I think I’ll have to read it. ♡

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahh, I am SO glad to hear that! I definitely didn’t want to stick it out but all the reviews were raving, so curiosity got the better of me and I saw it through. In my opinion, it’s worth it!

      I really hope you have a good time with it, and you’ll have to let me know what you think!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

