A Revisiting Review: The Name of the Star

Goodreads Sysnopsis:

Jack the Ripper is back, and he’s coming for

 Rory next….

 

Louisiana teenager Rory Deveaux arrives in London to start a new life at boarding school just as a series of brutal murders mimicking the horrific Jack the Ripper killing spree of more than a century ago has broken out across the city. The police are left with few leads and no witnesses. Except one. Rory spotted the man believed to be the prime suspect. But she is the only one who saw him – the only one who can see him. And now Rory has become his next target…unless she can tap her previously unknown abilities to turn the tables.

 

Rating: 4.5/5

My thoughts:

If you’ve ever checked out my Bookstagram account you’ve probably seen my occasional posts about the books in the Shades of London series.I really love this series and I feel like I talk about it all the time, so I’ve decided to review them and let you in on what my hype is all about, starting with the first book called The Name of the Star:

I will admit that this book started off rather slow for me, but it was still interesting to see England introduced from Rory’s perspective. I love books/TV shows/ movies set in England, so this was right up my alley. What’s more, it’s set in London but with a paranormal thriller twist, as famous serial killer is making his rounds yet again and this time has his sights set on Rory. Getting to explore this spoopy behind-the-scenes version of London is a lot of fun, especially following Rory as she uncovers the truth about the killer.

Rory’s narration has a pretty distinct and dry tone to it, which I recognize that might be a little off-putting to some, but I found it to be hilarious.  She’s super quirky and odd, and her side tangents made me laugh out loud. I really really liked the side characters, but I felt like their characterization was reserved and that there could be a lot more to them that we’re not getting (which is why you should definitely check out the following books!). The romance threw me off guard a little bit and it definitely was not the shining aspect of the book, but I guess that’s pretty understandable considering that Rory is a little preoccupied with stopping a psychotic serial killer.

Which brings me to the plot: I really loved the premise of this book! Who doesn’t love a good story about Jack the Ripper? The original case is interesting enough, but now he’s back and terrorizing the streets of modern day London and it’s not exactly like you’d expect. I don’t want to give anything about this series away to those of you who haven’t read this just yet, but I will tell you that the paranormal aspect of this book is absolutely what makes this series for me!

This book is funny and quirky and I highly recommend everyone who likes paranormal thrillers to give this series a try!

Leave a Reply

